Finally I got a chance to start my own blog –  a place where I can share my knowledge in Data Warehousing and Business Intelligence area, especially with Microsoft BI stack.

Blogging is actually a good way to learn from each other. So feel free to give comments.

As a start, I have several old and recent news around Microsoft BI stack that I think very useful to share:

  1. Report Builder 2.0 has been released on last 17th October. Download it here. The last piece of Reporting Services 2008 that allow developers, power user and  ad-hoc users power to create and publish their own report.  With Microsoft Office 2007 look-and-feel , this tool provides full features or SSRS 2008 – namely: new data layout, visualization and rich formatted text.
    The tool also allow user to edit deployed report directly from report server.
  2. SQL 2008 Cumulative Update 1 can be downloaded from here.
  3. SQL 2008 Features pack – August 2008 can be downloaded from here.
  4. If you are dealing with SSIS 64bits and Oracle, have a look at this post from Eran Sagi. It provides very useful information about problems and solutions.
  5. Jasper Smith has provided us a very useful tool to allow us, especially developer to generate reporting services script. He also developed a tool to generate linked report, which can be found here. Both tools are very useful in order to automate Reporting Services deployment process.

I will be focusing on SSIS and SSAS (OLAP Cube and Data Mining) in my next posts.

